Posted by: allenrachel | May 11, 2009

What has being a theological studies major meant to me?

It has meant late nights with brilliant minds.

It has meant taking classes because I was interested, not required. 

It has meant knowing that I do not know everything, and that is a good thing.

It has meant getting to know those human beings who will be undoubtedly be changing this world for the better.

It has meant thinking critically about my most important beliefs.

It has meant praise and lamentation.

It has meant becoming more of the person God created me to be.

It has meant asking others to do the same.

It has meant learning more of our collective narrative.

It has meant learning to write that narrative for others to read.

It has meant long conversations in the Humanities building that are ultimately about friendship, not schoolwork.

It has meant using faith and reason simultaneously.

It has meant learning more about the faith in which I grew up.

It has meant learning about the other faiths in the world.

It has meant a new idea of vocation.

It has meant evangelization.

It has meant speaking out against injustice.

It has meant being silent in prayer.

It has meant an education that has meant more than I knew it would.

Responses

  1. Nice post, Rachel. Since I’ve been particularly nostalgic this week about all aspects of my life, this adds to it yet again. I can relate to all our your points in the above post; I have learned so much about myself and changed so much that I know I wouldn’t have done had I not been a theology major. I know that my worldviews for the rest of my life will be impacted by the experiences I have had and the lessons I have learned in my classes.
    What’s more, I don’t think I realized how much I enjoyed getting to know my colleagues in my own major this year. Being a theology major opened my social life up to a whole new set of people, who enriched my life tons and pushed me to become more than I was, whether they were aware of it or not. I don’t know that I have had the pleasure of working with a more socially-aware, spiritually thoughtful, and compassionate group of people. I can’t wait to hear what everyone ends up doing in the next several years. You’re right, Rachel- this group of people will undoubtedly change the world.

  2. So as far as expanding my social life goes…

    My theological studies for me have meant having my first drink with the multilingual Dr. Asen at the end of his Biblical Hermeneutics class and Gabe recommending I get a glass of Vodka straight up.

    It has meant for me a Halloween party shoulder-to-shoulder, standing room only in a Coronado apartment trying to talk theology over blaring music.

    It has meant playing ‘Mafia’ on a Saturday night with his wife giving the defining vote to knock off Dr. Robinette at his house.

    It has meant finishing my undergraduate theology career with a panel presentation and another glass of Vodka with Gabe at Humps discussing humanity’s role or lack thereof in our salvation.

    It has meant having a good time, with four year old friends as well as new friends, as an adult, when we can’t get away from discussing theology, even at a party.

  3. For me, being a theology major has mostly been positive (though I decided to do this somewhat late in my college career), except for the rough semester in Father Voiss’ class, during which I seriously considered dropping theology as a major. Thankfully the seminar with Dr. Robinette has been nothing but wonderful. Overall, being a theology major has caused me to be more aware of my faith and those around me. I have dealt with many situations throughout my four years at SLU that caused me to question my faith and reflect on the possible theological responses to those situations. (I will put up a major post with more details) Ultimately being a theology major has enabled to me to more clearly define myself and my faith.

  4. Thanks again for a lovely post, Rachel.

    I think being a Theology major has been striking a firm balance between egg-headedness, and listening to the true vocations of the gospels. This semester has been beautiful for me, maybe simply because I think that my participation in these conversations were not reserved for the classroom, but found their way into coffee shops, dinners, late night walks, etc. We all struggled through this past year, but the product has been really great for everyone one of us. We all have new methods and attitudes, and more importantly, answers to questions that are more fundamental to other people than questions of ‘homoousias’, or what the real relationship is between Augustine and the Manocheanists. We have ways to answer in compassion, but without ignoring the academic sensibilities of the question.

    I am grateful for the fun all of us have had together, and even the moments of tension where we didn’t know if we could all see eye to eye. This entire year has been invigorating.

  5. Rachel,

    I share a similar sentiment toward this semester with regard to many of your thoughts, especially your last point. I learned more about myself this semester than I ever have in any other class. It wasn’t all pretty either (in fact, most of it wasn’t). In engaging some of the most penetrating and enigmatic questions I found myself troubled, lost and even angry. The solace I did find was usually in the reflections from the rest of the class. I have to say that listening to your accounts of your faith has been especially instructive and humbling. So, thank you. For this post and for this year.

  6. Rachel, thank you so much for posting this. I love so many different aspects of this post. For one, your post has shown me that others have had similar experiences in being a theology major to that of what I had. This does not only go to sum up this year but all four years of theology and study. I agree and constantly feel blessed about your last state, my education as a theology major has meant much more than I knew it would.


Leave a Reply

Categories

